Let’s get SAG-gy

I wrote this at the time of the event but have just found out that it did not post, which I thought that it had. So here it is, just fashionably late…


Unfortunately techinical issues kept me from posting my red carpet review of the Golden Globe Awards – a night synonymous with stars choosing to play it safe with their fashion choices.

Next in the awards season are the SAG awards which I will now be giving you a hot off the press rundown of my opinions on the sartorial slays, and unfortunately for some, fashion flops from the ruby rug.

Let’s begin with a positive

Octavia Spencer’s black peplum dress is perfect and compliments her curvy figure. I love the way the sheer neckline and waist cinch and slim giving the illusion of an hourglass figure.

Gwyneth Paltrow called, she wants her dress back. Maisie Williams’ dress is ill fitting and the waistband has the opposite effect of Octavia’s and adds width to her frame. Her lip colour is much too dark for such a feminine dress and I’m not going to even comment on her bouffy updo.

Michelle Dockery decided to play dress ups attending the ceremony dressed as a liquorice all sort.

Mayim Bialik apparently got the dress like an all sort memo but made the look her own by impersonating a Christmas coloured special version of the popular confectionary

I’m not 100% sure how/ why Sophia Bush is still invited to these events or why Marchesa are dressing her but this bold coloured frock and matching makeup stole the show. This is one of my favourite looks of the event.

I love the deep merlot shade of Taryn Manning’s gown and her choice to accesorise the look with pastel pink, undone hair has paid off giving her look a grunge glam edge.

It is a sin to say a bad word about Hollywood royal Meryl Streep so I’m choosing to remain silent about this shapeless number. Cute clutch though.

Va-va-voom! 19 year old Ariel Winter looks like a saucy sex siren in this curve hugging, bling-tastic frock and I am loving the dark mani and the pop of colour on her lip keeps the look fun and playful.

One positive about this black dress with sheer cape and floral waist detail is that the sheer panels should hopefully dispell any pregnancy whispers for her and rumoured beau, Brad Pitt. Any other comments will not be nice.

Amanda Peet, sweetie you seem to be wearing your dress backwards.

Gwendolyn Christie is swamped by this sequinned Vivienne Westwood jumpsuit but mad props to anyone braves enough to rock head to toe sequins.

Emily Blunt looks poised and ladylike in her pretty embellished gown. I am usually opposed to any dress with a short sleeve but how can I hate when the girl looks so damn gorgeous?

Felicity Huffman… more like Felicity Hot-mama-man. Bitch is slaying in this curve creating, illusion gown.

I am conflicted here because I am morally opposed to Kaley Cuoco but I am in love with this gorgeous, blush dress. To ease the war in my head I have taken to looking at this photo with my thumb covering her bitchtroll face. Voila!

 

The award for funnest look of the night goes to  Thandie Newton. Her jewel encrusted dress with funfair appliqué is stunning and I am loving the assymetrical hem and neckline. Everybody loves carnivals so this look was sure to put a smile on every bodies dial.

I don’t think I’ve ever seen Julie Bowen look so sexy. Damn Gurl!

 

Sofia Vergara manages to pull it off but I loathe tea-length dresses, which sadly was a recurring trend on the SAG’s ruby rug. At least it’s a change from her usual uniform of figure hugging mermaid gowns

Kirsten Dunst’s dress looks like the dream dress of a couldn’t care less about fashion, boho bride at her barefoot, backyard wedding. For me this look is just so underwhelming. Next!

 

Taraji P. Henson wows in this Reem Acra gown that is true to the designers usual aesthetic. I wonder if people had to yell all night so she could hear them over all that volume packed into her bob? In all seriousness though, I actually really like her hair.

And that’s a wrap for my red carpet review! Do you agree with my opinions and who I loved and loathe or are you left dumbstruck by my decisions of which list I have put somebody on? Let me know, I love hearing your opinions either way!

Stay sassy, sisters! 

X. 

Leave a Reply

